Moving Oilseed Products Forward


The Convention Committee is responsible for the planning and execution of the annual convention. The committee selects convention meeting sites, speakers and programming.

Chairman:  Liam Rogers – Hudson Tank Terminals Corporation

Joseph Basile — Catania Oils

Mark Chmielewski – RJ O’Brien

Walter Floyd – Darling Ingredients, Inc.

John Healy — Columbus Vegetable Oils

Jarred Johnson — ADM

Tom Kerstetter — Ring Container Technologies, Inc.

Brian Shultz – MPB Commodities Brokerage Inc.

Nate Smithson – Moving Parts LLC


The Executive Committee consists of the current officers and various directors serving on the NIOP Board of Directors. They provide strategic recommendations and leadership to the Board of Directors.

President: Changjian Ji — Cargill, Inc. 

First Vice President: Nate Smithson — Moving Parts, LLC

Second Vice President: Scott Peterson — Odine Marine Group, LLC

Treasurer: Joseph Basile — Catania Oils

Director:   Brian Owens — PBF Energy

Director:  Liam Rogers, Hudson Tank Terminals


The Education Committee is responsible for planning NIOP’s annual course offering, Introduction to the Oilseed Industry Training, including selecting speakers, identifying important topics of discussion and ensuring a valuable experience for attendees.

Co-Chairs: Tara Ryan – Cargill, Inc. & Andy Seagren – Ventura Foods

Courtney Lawrenson — Ag Processing Inc.

Craig Mullen — Bridgewell Agribusiness, LLC

Will Swanson — Cargill, Inc.


The Membership Committee is responsible for member recruitment and retention, which includes recruiting new member organizations to join NIOP, as well as receiving feedback from current members regarding the overall membership value of NIOP.

Chair:  Shane Veasey — Bunge

Keith Bryan — Procter & Gamble Co.

Beth Cook — CMC Foods

Paige Kennebeck — Moving Parts LLC

Ryan Simeral —MPB Commodities Brokerage Inc.

Ernest Webb — NETCO


The Scholarship Committee is responsible for administering NIOP’s scholarship program.
Learn More

Chair: Dave Reeble – Moving Parts LLC

Derrick Augspurger — Bunge

Cheryl Moore (Daughter of Mr. Mogerley, whom NIOP’s scholarship is named after; And wife of NIOP member, Craig Moore — Hudson Tank Terminals)

Laurie Rogers (daughter of Mr. Mogerley, whom NIOP’s scholarship is named after; And wife of NIOP member, Liam Rogers — Hudson Tank Terminals)


The Communications Committee (formerly the Social Media Committee) is responsible for the organization’s social media forums that include Facebook and Instagram as well as the Website.  The website and other communications efforts was added to the committee’s responsibilities in mid-2022.

Chair:  Todd Biedenfeld, CHS, Inc.

Beth Cook — CMC Foods

Ann Marie Galbo — American Specialty Oils Co.

Jackie Greatorex — Spack International Inc.

Bret Hathaway — Flowers Foods, Inc.

Paige Kennebeck — Moving Parts LLC

Alissa Novotny — VEOS

Sarah Perry — Ag Processing Inc.

Sara Repa — Bunge


The Rules Committee is made up of 3 subcommittees – based off of subject matter: contract language, specifications and quality, and finance.  

The Rules Committee is currently reviewing the NIOP Rulebook to ensure the included language is relevant and accurate, serving the oilseed industry well.  A revised edition of the Rulebook will be available in late 2024.

Chair:  Brett Peterson — CHS, Inc.

Contract Language:

Doug Adams — Johnsrud Transport, Inc.

Erin Alves — Canadian Pacific Kansas City Railroad

Cory Barnes — Stratas Foods

Alex Gallup — Daabon Organic USA, Inc.

Christian Hildebrand — Stratas Foods

Jake Hinrichs — Columbus Vegetable Oils

Rules & Specifications

Savannah Chadwick — Cargill, Inc.

Kevin Flanagan — MPB Commodities Brokerage, Inc.

Jane Hayden — ADM

David Hoffsten —Adams Vegetable Oils, Inc.

Scott Lanctot —Ventura Foods, LLC

Liam Rogers — Hudson Tank Terminals Corporation

Eric Snow — Stolt Tankers USA, Inc.

Adam Thomson — Pasternak, Baum & Co., Inc.


Miles Atchison — Bridegwell Agribusiness, LLC

Ben Bradbury — AMCOM

Tanner East — Perdue Agribusiness

Alissa Novotny — VEOS

Taylor Schrage — StoneX


The Product Integrity Committee, newly created in 2022, is responsible for notifying the Board of Directors as they work on efforts to ensure Product Integrity.
Learn More

Chair: Joseph Basile — Catania Oils

Stephen Basile — Catania Oils

David Bezenyei — Columbus Vegetable Oils

Juan Colmenares — AAK, USA

Andy Crews — Stratas Foods

Phil Fontenot — Ventura Foods

David Tillman — Stratas Foods

Cherilynn Whitehouse — AAK, USA


Per the NIOP Bylaws, the Nominating Committee consists of the First Vice President, the Second Vice President, and a Director appointed by the Chairman.  It is the responsibility of this committee to nominate one individual to the Board of Directors for the following positions: President, Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, and each vacancy on the Board of Directors.

Chair:  Scott Peterson — Odin Marine Group

Joseph Basile — Catania Oils

Nate Smithson — Moving Parts LLC



The Spouse Committee works to ensure that all spouses/significant others who attend the NIOP Annual Convention feel welcomed and included!  This committee holds their own breakfast for spouses at each Annual Convention, as a place for significant others to meet one another, connect, and forge friendships, much like their spouses are doing at the convention!

Chair: Kyle Kennebeck — Husband of Paige Kennebeck (Moving Parts LLC)

Laura Peterson — Wife of Brett Peterson (CHS Inc.)

Laurie Rogers — Wife of Liam Rogers (Hudson Tank Terminals Corporation)

Tanya Stacy — Wife of Lynn Stacy (OEC Group Liquid Logistics Solutions)

Shelby Veasey — Wife of Shane Veasey (Bunge)


The Oils University Committee works with conjunction with the Northern Crops Institute (NCI) to plan and facilitate NIOP’s 2 day intensive deep-dive course into the Oilseed Industry.  Several of the committee members serve as “industry experts” for the class, facilitating roundtable discussions and exercises with attendees.

Learn more.

Chair:  David Tillman — Stratas Foods

Tara Ryan — Cargill, Inc.

Andy Seagren — Ventura Foods

Valerie Simeral — MPB Commodities Brokerage, Inc.

Nate Smithson — Moving Parts LLC


The Transportation Committee provides quarterly reports on factors affecting all modes of transportation in our industry: tanker, barge, terminal, rail, and trucking. 

Chair: Eric Snow — Stolt Tankers USA, Inc.

Doug Adams — Johnsrud Transport, Inc.

Jessica Hecht — MPB Commodities Brokerage Inc.

John Robertson — American Commercial Barge Line

Daniel Strydom — Stolthaven

Jesus Uribes — BNSF Railway

Ernest Webb — NETCO

Scroll to Top