NIOP Scholarship Program Named in Honor of Albert F. Mogerley

At its 85th Annual Convention (2019), the NIOP named its scholarship program in honor of Albert F. Mogerley.  Mr. Mogerley was a mentor to many in the Oilseed Industry.  He gave selflessly to the industry through years of personal and professional dedication and leadership.  Mr. Mogerley was a postive and encouraging force in the industry. Following his death, several members of the board quickly determined that it would “fitting” to name the scholarship fund in Mr. Mogerley’s honor.  It is the organization’s goal that Mr. Mogerley’s example and legacy live on.

Two of Mr. Mogerley’s daughters, Laurie Rogers and Cheryl Moore, were in attendance at the 2019 Convention to accept a plaque and recognition of the naming of the scholarship fund for their father.

2020 Scholarship Winners

Congratulations to Abby Myers, one of two, Albert F. Mogerley Scholarship recipients in 2020. Abby is an undergraduate at the University of North Dakota. Abby’s father and mother are soybean  farmers (among other things).  Abby’s father, Jay serves on the United Soybean Board.  


Here’s what Abby had to say about receiving NIOP’s scholarship: “Being selected as a recipient of the NIOP Albert F. Mogerley Scholarship has meant the world to me.  When I found out I was a recipient of this scholarship, I immediately thought “Why me?”  Because of institutes like NIOP, student’s dreams are made a reality. NIOP sees potential in the future of students like me, and more importantly, sees potential in our future in agriculture. My passion for this industry continuously grows and I am grateful that I have developed an undeniable appreciation for the agricultural industry. Receiving this scholarship means so much more than I can put into words.  A simple “thank you” does not express the amount of gratitude I have. Not only does the financial assistance mean a lot to me, but the generosity and kindness behind the scholarship fund will never go unnoticed.  This scholarship has inspired me to always strive to be successful, caring, selfless, determined and generous now and in my future. To NIOP, thank you so much.  I appreciate your promotion of academic excellence and I hope this scholarship leads me one step closer to my career goals.”

Congratulations to Carson Pearl, NIOP’s second Albert F. Mogerley Scholarship recipient for 2020.  Carson is a senior at the University of Missouri-Columbia where he is studying plant science with emphasis in Breeding, Biology & Biotechnology.  He’s also minoring in Agricultural Economics, Biological Sciences and Geological Sciences with Honors Certifications in progress.  Carson’s father is Cary Pearl who works for Bunge North America.


Here’s what Carson had to say about receiving NIOP’s scholarship:  “I am very honored to be selected and receive the 2020 NIOP Albert F. Mogerely Scholarship. I am grateful to his family and everyone that has contributed to the scholarship fund over the years to allow me to complete my undergraduate school work in the Division of Plant Sciences at the University of Missouri – Columbia. This scholarship opportunity will allow me to further my career goals in plant biology and agribusiness. After graduation, I plan to apply to graduate schools and further specialize my studies in plant genetics prior to entering the industry and the NIOP scholarship helps me greatly to achieve and take the next steps in my educational journey. Thank you again, I am honored by the selection and the support of NIOP and the Mogerely family.”

2019 Albert F. Mogerley Scholarship Recipients


Grace Tillman, student at  Mississippi State University studying Food Science and Nutrition. Grace’s father works for NIOP member company, Stratas Foods.


Kimberly Oliver a double major in Animal Science and Agricultural Business at Arkansas State.



2018  Scholarship Recipients


Will Tiffany student at Lincoln College


Reilly Seagren student at Baylor University

Guidelines & Criteria


Award – $2,500 per scholarship; payable directly to the academic institution for the approaching academic year.

Number of Scholarships – the number of scholarships will be determined by the committee

Eligibility Restrictions – recipient must be the son/daughter to an individual who is employed by a dues-paying NIOP member in good standing.

Criteria for Scholarship

Academic Achievement – minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale.


Essay – All applicants must submit a 500-word essay (typed, double-spaced). Any essay significantly longer than two double-spaced pages will not be accepted. Essay topic: Explain why you want to pursue your chosen degree.


Complete the Application — email to request an application

How To Apply

How to Apply

To apply for a 2020-2021 academic year scholarship, please submit a completed application and all supporting materials as one PDF file via email at . If email is not an option, please submit by mailing to NIOP Headquarters at PO Box 11035, Columbia, SC 29211. The mailed application must be submitted with no staples, page protectors, tabs, binders, brochures, books, notebooks, etc. Each page of the application should be an 8 ½ X 11 piece of paper (one-sided). Please keep a copy of the complete application for your records.


Each application packet must include the following:
* Completed application form
* Copy of the applicant’s high school or college transcript
* 500-word essay (typed, double spaced)
* Documentation from college, university or trade school program indicating specific field of study


If you have questions or concerns about the application process,
please contact

NIOP Scholarship Guidelines and Application Form Download